Tempstar/blower


  #1  
Old 10-11-11, 05:15 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Tempstar/blower

My Tempstar furnace blower will not stop running unless I shut off the power. I have installed a new digital thermostat, and still no luck. Any suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-11, 05:48 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How many wires did you connect to the thermostat, and to which terminals on the thermostat did you connect them?

What is the make and model of the thermostat you installed?
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-11, 11:20 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thermostat

Thank you Seattle, I installed a Honeywell digital programmable thermostat. It was very easy to install. It required to mark all wires first, then attach them to the thermostat. The fan continues to run when I turn on the power.
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-11, 11:39 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You still need to answer the questions posed if you want some help.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-11, 05:36 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
more info

It is a Honeywell RTH6350/RTH6450 series Programmable thermostat. There are four wires. G connected to G, W to W, Y to Y, and RH to R. It is a tempstar gas furnace, W/ Air that has a separate compressor out side.
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-11, 06:12 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
What is the current setting on the FAN button on the thermostat?

At the furnace, measure the voltage between the C and G terminals. What AC voltage do you get, if any?
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-11, 07:23 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
auto and volt

The fan is set @ auto. I've never used a volt meter before, but I own one. There is no 'C' terminal, but with the meter set to 50 on the AC V mode w/ the red on G and the blk. on RC, I get a 53 on the red AC reading. This is an old analog meter. I get the same reading with red on G and blk. on Y. The fan will not shut off on manual or auto.
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-11, 07:27 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Get the AC read from G to the metal chassis of the furnace.

The G terminal causes the furnace fan to switch on and run if it is energized with 24 VAC.

So you want to check and see if that is energized by some means.

You can also disconnect the wire going to the thermostat at the G terminal and see what happens.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: