funace fan keeps running but only sometimes

Old 11-24-11, 07:35 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
funace fan keeps running but only sometimes

forced air gas furnace
Fan will keep running after burners shut off. It dont do it all the time. It will keep running until I either shut the furnace off or it I lower temp it will also shut fan off.
ANY ideas what I should look for or check. I have put a new fan switch on it already.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-24-11, 11:54 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Please post the model and make of the furnace which can be obtained from the rating plate in the burner compartment of the furnace.

Old 11-28-11, 09:15 AM
I am not a pro. My furnace typically runs for a few minutes after the flame cuts off. I think it runs until the temp drops to a certain point, but it could be a timer or something I am not aware of. It may be that your furnace is not cooling off fast enough.

It may also be that your thermostat is telling the furnace to run fan only for some reason or malfunctioning. It might be worth while buying one of those cheap round honeywell thermostats that only work off temperature and have no other functions and see if it works with that.

If your furnace is very old take this opportunity to replace it with something that runs cheaper and with no troubles.

Old 11-30-11, 04:05 PM
model number

furnace is a Duomatic Olsen
Model number is HCA100ND4R
serial number 890518222

Have programmable thermostat, for the most part, frunace runs good when program is running. But if I change heat temp to override the program is when it seems to act up but not always. It has also done it when running program but less times this way
I know its suppose to run to cool down to certain point, but it never stops running until its shut off.

Last edited by tecate87; 11-30-11 at 04:21 PM.
Old 11-30-11, 05:51 PM
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Let me add that you should run your fan 24/7 in heating mode for good IAQ and to help with cold spots