coal = dirty vents/carpet?

Old 12-04-11, 03:00 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
coal = dirty vents/carpet?

is it normal for forced air coal to produce do much dirt that the carpet outside the vent becomes stained?

i know someone that has some kind of coal/oil/wood furnace and they are always complaining how dirty things get

or is it just a product of not keeping up with maintenance

Sponsored Links
Old 12-04-11, 03:42 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
No it is not normal. The heat exchanger should be checked. If the air from the vents is unusually hot (150[SUP]o[/SUP] or higher) that too can cause discoloration around the vents.
Solid fuels are more dusty than oil or gas, no doubt about it. I guess it's possible the fuel dust is being drawn into the system & blown thru the ducts.

Old 12-05-11, 05:29 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 104 Votes on 95 Posts
I'm certainly no expert when it comes to furnaces but as a painter I've noticed that with oil or coal furnaces the vents and often part of the wall/ceiling are often discolored and need cleaning and/or priming before painting. I don't know if it's caused by lack of maintenance or not but I've seen it often on homes with oil or coal heat and rarely [maybe never] on gas or electric heat.

Old 12-05-11, 06:56 AM
Wow.. There's still coal burning furnace out there??

As Grady said, it's leaking some where, and getting into the air flow.. I grew up burning wood, and yes, at times the smoke puffs out and does get into the house, but not at the vent.

Old 12-05-11, 10:19 AM
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Jay I thought the same thing! It must have some age.

Old 12-05-11, 10:22 AM
i think it was installed during the 80s...mostly coal put thru it, rarely oil or wood, i dont know brand or anything

Old 12-05-11, 02:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 104 Votes on 95 Posts