Coleman fgas furnace pressure switch


  #1  
Old 12-19-11, 06:04 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Coleman fgas furnace pressure switch

I have a coleman gas furnace model GM9S up. and I keep getting the code for the pressure switch opening 4 or more times during the heating cycle (6 red flashes). Does anyone know why this would be occuring. It's a switch, I assume they can go bad but are there any other possibilities I can Look at since the switch is only about 5 yeard old. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-19-11, 08:13 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When a pressure switch fails to close, the cause is a bad pressure switch about 2% of the time.

Usually the reason is that something in the combustion or venting system is plugged up. That could be anything from a plugged heat exchanger, sagging venting system to a fitting on the inducer motor housing that is plugged up.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-11, 03:57 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Goodman furnaces usually have less than quality installations because anyone can buy them. I would check your flue for sagging which causes condensation to get stuck in the sag and the pressure switch to trip intermittently. Also check the other items as SP has suggested.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: