Furnace problem, please help!?

Old 01-14-12, 06:22 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace problem, please help!?

Ok just so you all know this is my very first time looking at furnace, and have no clue what anything is called, or what to look for, im just trying to help my mother out and save her some $$, with that being said heres all the info i think you'll need to know, Oh and thanks in advance! and idk if its gas or electric?

Amana Air Command 80 SSE
Model #guia070830
MFG #P1206602F
Serial #9502213186

Now heres the problem, its been working fine all winter so far. All of a sudden last night it just started blowing out cold air. I went down and took the panels off just to see if there was anything obvious i could do (not knowing how crazy that stuff was) and held the button down that the panel usually keeps down to get the furnace going. I noticed this BLUE ON and OFF switch, didn't mess with it at all first, now with holding this black button down the furnace would click on, and id see some light in the box a few seconds later it would just die off (with the furnace still running, blowing out cold air). Now, just out of curiosity i turned the BLUE ON and OFF switch to where the OFF position was on the top, i seemed to get a way better reaction this way, when i held the black button down the light would appear and a few seconds later the blue flames would start shootin out and blowing out hot air! It seems to be working fine now, but shutin off about every oh..7-10 minutes, just to turn back on a second later, i guess what im wondering is it safe for the BLUE switch to be off? what is its purpose? because when its on, like im guessing it should be, because thats where it was originally at, then the furnace wont work, but with it off, it seems to be just fine? Hmmm, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Heres pics

http://i1258.photobucket.com/albums/...redownload.jpg

http://i1258.photobucket.com/albums/...yline410/2.jpg