Goodman GMP075-3 Flame "rolling out"

Old 01-16-12, 09:33 AM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman GMP075-3 Flame "rolling out"

I'll start by saying I heve a decent electrical background. I have a lot of experience with oil fired units and limited experience with Nat gas/Propane units. So here is my story. We woke up Christmas morning with no heat. I checked my unit, flame would light but not prove and stay lit. I fixed that problem, finally. There were some melted wires between the lower and upper sections. Now to find out why I had burnt wiring. When given the call for heat unit procedes normally. Prepurge,HSI, gas valve opens, flame proven, time delay then indoor blower starts. To this point everything is normal. Except, I am getting a little flame backing up into the burner area. After a couple of minutes the flame is backing up worse. At that point I cut the gas to keep from damaging wires. I have checked for exhaust restrictions and the RPM on the blower motor(power venter). Pulled the heat exchanger and checked for restrictions. Nothing found. I had a heater tech friend go over everything and he left scratching his head too. Outside of a large crack in the heat exchanger what would let enough "house air" leak into the burner area? Has anyone else come across a similar problem?

Old 01-16-12, 09:56 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,256 Upvotes on 2,009 Posts
Say no more than "large crack in the heat exchanger". Unless it's under warranty that usually means a new unit to me.

Old 01-16-12, 10:37 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
For openers, the pressure switch should stop the ignition sequence if there is inadequate negative pressure for the furnace to operate safely. So you shouldn't get flame rollout.

Did your tech friend measure the air pressure being applied to the pressure switch with a manometer? If so, what was it? If it hasn't been done, it's a test that needs to be done --- properly.