Bryant 80 plus t inducer motor issues, i think...

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-28-12, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bryant 80 plus t inducer motor issues, i think...

HI all! I have a bryant plus 80t that's about 13yrs old. A week ago in the middle of the day my Draft Inducer stopped running and in turn the furnace stopped firing up and gives a #31 error for one sequence and then changes to a #32 error. Thinking I'm smart, I ordered a new Draft inducer motor, installed it, and still #31 then #32. I ordered and installed a new dual hi/lo pressure switch assembly, still #31 then #32. I've jumped the limit switch to try get the inducer going, no go. I ran through the sequence test by jumping Test/com24v and get nothing till the Hot Surface Igniter fires up then the blower comes on, but no Draft inducer. Not sure what my next step should be... Suggestions? Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-28-12, 07:29 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
verify voltage to the motor. no voltage = bad control board or connections.
 
  #3  
Old 01-28-12, 09:44 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a good example of why guessing and supposing is not a substitute for a competent diagnostic method.


Hvac tech is pointing the way correctly.
 
  #4  
Old 01-29-12, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I'm gonna hook up the voltmeter and see what I got...
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-12, 05:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 66
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
While you're there pull out the limit and feel inside to see if your heat exchanger's cracked. My company's replaced about 10 of them on the 80%'s in the past year.
 
  #6  
Old 01-29-12, 06:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
not on an 80 + T you have not. on an older 80 yes they were known ofr cracks, but not an 80 + T model
 
  #7  
Old 01-31-12, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 66
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh touche hvactech! You're absolutely right.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: