Ruud gas furnace starts and then dies


  #1  
Old 09-23-12, 11:35 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ruud gas furnace starts and then dies

I have a Ruud Acheiver 90 Plus(10 years old). It starts normally and runs for about 90 seconds and then dies. The blower never kicks in. If I turn the furnace off on the thermostat, I can turn the fan on so I know the fan motor works. (in addition, the air conditioning worked all summer). There is a green light in the lower front panel and it flickers as the furnace tries to start.

Thanks in advance for advise

Kyle
 
  #2  
Old 09-23-12, 12:03 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
turn the fan to on at the thermostat and then turn the furnace on, does it run now? If it does then it is likely that the fan relay on the control board has failed for heating speed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-23-12, 12:22 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I started with everything off at the thermostat, turned the fan from "Auto" to "On", and it comes on. I then turned the furnace on and the fan immediately dies as the furnace starts. The furnace then runs for it's warmup and then it dies again.
 
  #4  
Old 09-23-12, 12:30 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
sounds like the heating speed blower relay on the control board has failed. You would have to check power out of the control board to verify for sure, but that is what it sounds like it is doing.
 
  #5  
Old 09-23-12, 01:15 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I agree with HVAC Tech.


When you turn the fan control to on, the fan should run continuously. That the fan shuts off when you turn the furnace on suggests a defective ignition/fan control.

But careful checking of that theory should be done to be sure something else might not be happening.
 
  #6  
Old 09-23-12, 01:24 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is this something I can do myself? I am fairly handy and I have a good set of tools. Will ir require special tools?
 
  #7  
Old 09-23-12, 01:26 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
you can easily replace the control baord yourself with standard tools.
 
  #8  
Old 09-23-12, 01:41 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help, i'll check it out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: