Honeywell CT87N Heating Question


  #1  
Old 10-11-12, 08:54 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cool Honeywell CT87N Heating Question

I tried searching old friends to find my answer, but wasn't able to find one after some research. The closest I have found so far is this: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ga...t-problem.html

I am having the same issue where the T-Stat will only turn on if I have it set to about 7-8 degrees higher than what it actually states.

I have looked at the manual, I have the wire going into Rc and the jumper between R and Rc. Do I need to move my R wire to R (I don't think it should make a difference, should it)?

A/C works just fine, this is just with the Heat aspect.

Thank You
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-12, 09:43 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Iggster,
I don't know why but I've had nothing but bad luck with this particular stat. I suspect it is the connection pins/socket. I've had to replace quite a few with a different stat.
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-12, 09:47 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Any recommendations? I don't need anything fancy or flashy, just one that works.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-12, 10:00 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
My personal preference is White-Rodgers 1F78-144 but you are not likely to find it, or any White-Rodgers stat in a retail store. The Honeywell TH3110D1008 would probably do well for you.
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-12, 10:06 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The company I work for has an account with Grainger, so I would be able to find the White-Rodgers w/out an issue.

I am still going to try and work on this one for a few days, and if I can't find a resolution then I will replace it.
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-12, 06:01 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
What are the cycle rate dip switches set at?
1=?
2=?
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-12, 05:31 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I will have to double check when I get back home, but I am certain I did not change them. So unless they came from the factory other than Off and Off that is where they should be. Yes I do have a gas heating system. Thank you for the detailed diagram.
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-12, 06:51 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
It is likely you need a new thermostat if this is a new problem on an existing t-stat.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: