Gas furnace valve vent vs pilot inputs?


  #1  
Old 10-31-12, 12:48 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Gas furnace valve vent vs pilot inputs?

I just finished installing my honeywell VR8200A2132 gas valve on my Maytag 375A gas fired downflow furnace.

There is a difference between the two valves- Being that the old one has an input marked "Vent," with tubing running from it down to the burner (like a pilot would) and up towards the pressure switch. The vent looked exactly like a pilot, with a little nipple for the tubing to attach to, running down to the burner.

There is no connection for a pilot on my old valve, being my furnace is a pilotless model, going with a valve with no pilot setting. The manual did say that any 24v valve will work however.

The newly installed gas valve is standard, it doesn't have a connection for "Vent" but does have a pilot connection.

Does applying the "vent" tubing to a new "pilot" connection result in the same way? I don't see why it wouldn't, if it was there to replace a pilot and "vent" it. Otherwise I'd just forget about the pilot connection and plug it up? Doesn't seem right.

Someone give me some advice please?!?!

Whats the difference between a "Vent" connection and a "pilot" connection? Are they just two different phrases, one for a pilotless valve, and the other standard?

I'm somewhat versed in furnace repair but have never had this issue before...
 
  #2  
Old 10-31-12, 03:48 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
NO, it is not the same. A vent is usually the vent for the regulator diaphram (moves up and down with gas pressure supply change to keep the output the same constant pressure) The vent was run to the burner area to burn off any released gas. A pilot is just that... a pilot that lights the main burners. Can you post pictures of your old setup and the new? Did you have a standing pilot before.
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-12, 04:11 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your prompt response hvactech


Here are picture of my valves. The old one you'll notice there is only a vent (where I'm pointing to), and inlet/outlet pressure taps, nothing else. It is not standing pilot

The new valve doesn't have a vent connection from what I can tell...

Name:  photo(2).jpg
Views: 8096
Size:  43.0 KB

Don't know if both those uploaded correctly I'll reupload if not
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 10-31-12, 04:17 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of my furnace- The blower is up top the valve should float right in the middle there- You will see the vent tubing, running from the ignition box below up the length of the furnace- With a split where I am holding it to connect to the valve.
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 10-31-12, 04:19 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
your new one is not the correct replacement I do not believe. What was the number on the old valve?
 
  #6  
Old 10-31-12, 04:27 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think you are right I am reading more into this and I think I need a pilotless style gas valve...

My old valve's model number is vr8205s2288

I found a replacement here

CENTRAL AIR -GAS FURNACE -GAS VALVE- PILOTLESS FURNACE - Furnaces & Heating Systems

But I'm worried getting this model again is going to result in a failure again... Does anyone know of a new replacement version of this valve?
 
  #7  
Old 10-31-12, 04:36 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
No, are you sure that the valve was failed? How did you check it? Honeywell gas valves (other than smart valves) are very reliable. Yes, that looks like the correct valve in the online ad.
 
  #8  
Old 10-31-12, 04:40 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well we tested and saw that both the blowers worked, the circuit board was working, and we tested the wiring and it was sending the 24 volts to the valve

But sure enough the ignition box would click on- wait about 20 seconds- and click off (not hearing from the valve we assumed) then it tries again a couple times before shutting off

Anything else I should check for before ordering another valve?
 
  #9  
Old 10-31-12, 05:21 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
I guess not. Hard to say without a schematic.
 
  #10  
Old 10-31-12, 05:27 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
or any other way to definitively know the valve is inoperable?
 
  #11  
Old 10-31-12, 05:45 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
If you apply 24v to the valve and try blow through it is a good way once it is removed already.
 
  #12  
Old 10-31-12, 06:21 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Awesome so it shouldn't let me blow through it if working correctly? I'll try that when home
 
  #13  
Old 10-31-12, 06:32 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
err should let me if working? thanks for all your responses by the way super helpful!
 
  #14  
Old 10-31-12, 07:50 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
when blowing into the out I can barely force air through, whether its plugged in or not. the in doesnt allow any air passage
 
  #15  
Old 10-31-12, 07:56 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
sounds like you need a new valve.
 
  #16  
Old 10-31-12, 10:22 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well thats settled thanks again for the help very useful!
 
  #17  
Old 11-02-12, 12:05 AM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,830
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
Replacing a gas valve is not diy friendly.

Call a technician.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: