older nat gas rheem furnace with pilot light will not ignite

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-17-12, 09:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
older nat gas rheem furnace with pilot light will not ignite

I just signed up today after reading a post and the responses, which sounded very knowledgeable. So here goes. I have a Rheem natural gas furnace model number RGDC-07NC-GR which has a pilot light. when I turn on the furnace the blower starts and the pilot is lit, but it will not ignite, and simply shut down after about a minute. if I attempt to repeat the performance, it will only restart after a few minutes. I have tried to look online for a manual, but no luck. Any help would be most welcome.
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-18-12, 08:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
I can't find any info on that unit. Are you sure the model number is correct ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-12, 08:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot light stay on but burners do not ignite.

Chance are you need to install a new thermocoupler. That is the small tube type item that is above or next to the pilot light flame. They are not hard to install at all and are available at most hardware or farm & home type stores. They come in various lengths so be sure you get one the correct length. Longer is not problem but shorter won't work. Good luck. Rog
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-12, 10:27 AM
Trying2Help's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 715
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you mean by, "blower starts and the pilot is lit, but it will not ignite,"? Does this unit have a glow plug type pilot? If so, the ceramic pilot, glow plug, may be bad. Sometimes these units will cause the glow plug to lit, get red hot, but they don't get to a range which will allow the main burner to come on. Replaceing the glow plug will correct this.

I couldn't find the model # you supplied either.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-12, 03:48 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,911
Received 24 Votes on 19 Posts
Today, 11:58 AM
chieffan
Chance are you need to install a new thermocoupler. That is the small tube type item that is above or next to the pilot light flame. They are not hard to install at all and are available at most hardware or farm & home type stores. They come in various lengths so be sure you get one the correct length. Longer is not problem but shorter won't work. Good luck. Rog

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ne...#ixzz2FRzCwmbG

---------------------------
If the standing pilot stays on in between cycles, the thermocouple is fine.
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-12, 07:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
muggle......your link goes to
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-12, 08:03 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,911
Received 24 Votes on 19 Posts
link was generated by forum software when I copied chieffan's post.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: