Thermostat Hookup


  #1  
Old 12-23-12, 03:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat Hookup

Hi,

My thermostat has
B O G Y W R RC

My Furnace has

C G R W Y TWIN

Right now They are hooked up with (first letter Thermostat, last one is furnace)

B -> G
G -> C
Y -> Y
W-> W
R-> R

All other not hooked. (Note I also do not have AC)

I'll start by saying EVERYTHING works except the fan is ALWAYS on, even when I put fan on AUTO in thermostat.

So I thought it must be because G is not hooked to G (For fan control).

So I switch G->G and B->C (reading that B was common on older stuff).

BAM my 5A fuse breaks.

I think okay, maybe B isn't common so I just hook G-> G and disconnect B AND C.

Okay now my furnace ignites, but the FAN will not turn on. So my question is what am I doing wrong? And why the heck does this actually work in its current configuration? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-23-12, 04:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,175
Received 2,978 Votes on 2,686 Posts
G must go to G.

G is fan control for A/C and FAN ON mode.
 
  #3  
Old 12-24-12, 02:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried hooking G-> G and hooking my Thermostat B to Furnace C

I had a blowup of 5A fuse.

My next step was to not hookup Thermostat b nor Furnace C, and just leave G-> G

THis time my furnace ignites, but I feel NO AIR coming from my vents.

SO i then hook Thermostat G -> Furnace C and Thermostat B to Furnace G,

Now i get hot air. What am I doing wrong? WHy and how is this working in the current configuration. Can someone explain to me? Thanks!

I really want my fan to turn on/off as needed instead of constantly being on blowing air even when thermostat is set to AUTO and not giving heat.
 
  #4  
Old 12-24-12, 09:20 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
C does not get wired to the thermostat.
 
  #5  
Old 12-24-12, 12:37 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's actually really good to know. So if C doesn't get wired to the thermostat, I wire G->G, it seems like there is no air coming from the vents. Am I missing something?
 
  #6  
Old 12-24-12, 01:17 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
The fan on a GAS furnace should turn on 45 - 90 sec. after the burner starts. An electric furnace needs to be controlled by the thermostat. SO on an E furnace the thermostat needs to be setup to control an electric furnace.

Does the fan turn on if you switch the fan to on at the thermostat?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: