Natural gas furnace keeps shutting off with immediate restart

Old 01-02-13, 01:53 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Natural gas furnace keeps shutting off with immediate restart

This is a split-system AC/furnace with the air-handler and gas furnace in the attic.

Recently, it is shutting off every ten minutes or so, but immediately starting again about 10-15 seconds after it shuts off.

So, it's actually heating the house, but obviously something is not right.

I jumped the thermostat, and it still did it. I replaced the thermostat and it still did it.

I disconnected the blower capacitor and it measured 14.7 uF, so was within tolerance of the 15 uF label.

I took off the doors and watched it for 20-30 minutes with the door switched clamped in. Would you believe it never once shut off during that time, but within ten minutes of me coming out of the attic, it shut off and restarted again!

I about went crazy.

Any ideas?

I'm an electrician, but have also learned how to fix air conditioners. Furnaces are a little trickier.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-13, 01:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The furnace might be overheating and shutting off on the high temperature limit switch.

That's most often caused by a dirty filter, return air vent covered over or too many warm air vents closed.

If none of those things appear to be an issue, use a multimeter to see if the limit switch is ahutting off the 24 VAC to one side of the limit switch, which will shut off the burners.

Old 01-02-13, 02:13 PM
I first suspected the limit switch when the problem was described to me as well, but when I saw that it would immediately restart and run again, that didn't make sense to me. I will test it anyway next time I go up there. Thanks!

Here's something I just thought of: