Tempstar blower problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-13, 03:35 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar blower problem

I have a 15y/o Tempstar SP80, model NCC5050BFB2. Today I noticed the blower on this furnace was not working. The blower wheel spins freely but not a peep from the motor. I don't know much about electricity but the connection diagram showes 7 wires coming off the blower moter. 2 browns going to the capacitor and the other 5 going to the furnace control module. Those are, Black, Red, Blue White and Orange.The Black and The Blue are not connected. Is that the problem and if I am going to reconnect them which wire goes to which blade. One blade says motor, the other says lead, I think. Any advice would be appreciated.
thanks,
Bix
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-13, 04:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
Wiring colors for most motors are:
White = Common
Black = High
Yellow(orange) = Medium
Blue = Medium Low
Red = Low.
Brown and Brown w/white tracer is for the run capacitor.

In your case the black and blue are not connected. That means your furnace runs on low speed fan and your A/C or FAN ON mode is medium speed.

Most furnaces are only setup to use two speeds.

Does your thermostat have a FAN ON mode ? Does that make the blower work ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-02-13, 08:07 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is just a small furnace that heats the basement. No A/C. The thermostat is just your basic Honewell. As far as I know, the blower only has one speed.
Bix
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-13, 09:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
When the thermostat calls for heat does the blower eventually come on or does the burner shut down on over heat.

You may need to use a voltmeter to see if you have a defective motor or possible fan control board issue. The blower connects to the control board and the voltage can be checked there.
 
  #5  
Old 01-02-13, 11:17 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, the blower never comes on. The burners are on for a short period of time and then shut off. I have a multimeter. I'll give it a try on those voltage tests you suggest. What do you make of those those 2 disconnected wires?
Bix
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-13, 11:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
Those are speed control wires that your blower doesn't use.
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-13, 11:56 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wow, I'm glad you told me that. Eventually I would have gotten around to plugging them in and destroyed the furnace or something. I did get the blower to kick in one time by spinning it manually. I just read that is a sign that the motor is on it's way out and will soon need to be replaced. True?
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-13, 12:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
It's pretty rare that you could spin the motor by hand to get it started. That would seem to suggest that maybe your blower needs a starting capacitor.

Although.....the motor would be sitting there humming with a bad cap and turning it by hand could start it.
 
  #9  
Old 01-05-13, 10:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar blower problem

The capacitor is 7 SUF. I found a U Tube video that showed you how to check the capacitor with a multimeter. I think what you're looking for is a reading that's no more than 6-10% lower than that number. If I did it right, my capacitor had a reading of 2. something. Monday I'll look for a local parts store an check it also and if it's bad and that's the only problem I should be back in business very soon. Thanks for your feedback.
Bix
 
  #10  
Old 01-06-13, 12:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
Very hard to check with a multimeter.

A 7.5 mfd cap should be under $20
 
  #11  
Old 01-07-13, 12:45 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar blower problem

Well I took the capacitor to a local electric motor repair shop and he said it was good and the motor was probably bad. That statement was just off the top his head but I guess my next step will be to take the motor over so he can check it. We'll see what happens.
Bix
 
  #12  
Old 01-12-13, 01:01 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar blower problem one step closerOK

OK, I'm a little bit closer to fixing this thing. Capacitor checked out Ok. I ran power directly to the motor and it ran fine. I don't believe there is any power coming out of the fan timer control but I'm not sure if I checked correctly.. Everything else on the furnace is working properly. I need a suggestion on where I should go from here.
Thanks
Bix
 
  #13  
Old 01-13-13, 12:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
Was this post in regards to a previous thread ?

If not.....a model number would be helpful.
 
  #14  
Old 01-13-13, 01:23 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I re-posted because I couldn't find it either. First of all. Thank you for responding. It is model NCC5050BFB2.
Bix
 
  #15  
Old 01-13-13, 08:27 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,421
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You can select the poster's name and view past posts...

Tempstar blower problem

I have a 15y/o Tempstar SP80, model NCC5050BFB2. Today I noticed the blower on this furnace was not working. The blower wheel spins freely but not a peep from the motor. I don't know much about electricity but the connection diagram showes 7 wires coming off the blower moter. 2 browns going to the capacitor and the other 5 going to the furnace control module. Those are, Black, Red, Blue White and Orange.The Black and The Blue are not connected. Is that the problem and if I am going to reconnect them which wire goes to which blade. One blade says motor, the other says lead, I think. Any advice would be appreciated.
thanks,
Bix


Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ga...#ixzz2HsDl8i8g
 
  #16  
Old 01-13-13, 02:00 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar blower problem

Thanks Houston,
I admit I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to computers.
Bix
 
  #17  
Old 01-13-13, 02:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,421
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://icpindexing.toddsit.com/docum...4108200100.pdf

Diagram #7 page 65 0n the manual and 67 on the pdf.



Check neutral to the heat terminal (after the gas valve has opened) for 120VAC to prove that your board requires replacement.
 
  #18  
Old 01-13-13, 02:31 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I have merged the threads..........
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: