Problem with K1 relay on Honey Well 8182D

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-13, 07:28 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Problem with K1 relay on Honey Well 8182D

Thermostat is calling for heat correctly. K1 and K2 pull in. However the circulator pump wont run. No voltage at the pump. If I slightly move or jiggle K1 relay (while pulled in) the pump kicks on. The pump seems to stop prior to the heat call being satisfied. Over the past 4hrs the house temp has gone from 64-68 (heat call the entire time) I have checked the circ pump every 1/2hr the K1 relay is always pulled in however the pump is off. I jiggle K1 the pump starts and house warms for a while. The burner side seems to be functioning correctly.


Is it possible that the K1 relay is bad. Can I replace that replay?

Any help would be awesome!

Thanks,

-Chip
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-03-13, 07:37 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
It certainly possible & in your case probable the relay or a solder joint to it is bad. If you have soldering skills on circuit boards & can find a relay, you can replace it. Keep in mind, if you do repair the control & there is a major problem caused by said repair, nobody except yourself can be held liable. As a professsional, I MIGHT do it on my own equipment if I were in a pinch but as soon as I could get a new control, I'd replace the control but I would not go back with an 8182. I'd use a separate aquastat (R7224?) & primary control. It's probably cheaper to replace both than buy a new 8182D.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-13, 07:53 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply!!

I do have the ability to solder. Any thoughts on where to find a relay?

Also I have read that removing power and "cleaning" the exposed relay contacts could help.

Any thoughts?

Thanks again.

-Chip
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-13, 01:42 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
No idea as to where to get a relay. I doubt cleaning will help. My money is on a bad solder joint.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-13, 03:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,521
Received 1,033 Votes on 957 Posts
I agree with Grady......solder connections.

The link is to an interactive relay selection guide.

Relays & I/O Modules | Mouser
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: