Goodman GMP 100-4 issue

Old 02-02-13, 09:09 PM
J
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goodman GMP 100-4 issue

I have a Goodman GMP 100-4.
My problem is the blower is not blowing. The unit's indicator light is blinking 4 times. From my research, this appears to be the limit switch or auxiliary switch.
The blower wheel will not turn by itself, but we are able to reach in and rotate it which then starts it. However, when the house reaches the temperature on the thermostat and shuts off, it will not kick on again unless we manually rotate the wheel. I have tried locating the limit switch and auxiliary switch, but the manuals and part images I find online have been poorly illustrated and I'm having trouble identifying these parts.
Does this sound like a limit or auxiliary switch issue? Can anyone direct me to a place that show a good illustration of the parts?
I hope I've explained this clearly - I'm a novice with furnaces.
Any help/advice is greatly appreciated!

Old 02-03-13, 07:25 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
sounds like you should try a capacitor first. The capacitor helps the blower motor to start. If it is failed that would cause you to have to push start the motor. the limit switch trips BECAUSE the blower does not run and the heat exchanger overheats.

PS... I would have that furnace examined by a pro BEFORE you put any money into it. It is know to have heat exchanger failures (95%).

Attached Images  
Old 02-03-13, 03:33 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The limit switch is opening BECAUSE the fan wont start. That means that the furnace can't get rid of all the heat being pruced by the burners, causing the furnace to overheat and thwe limit switch to open.

As HCAC Tech suggests --- replace the capacitor, the usual problem when a fan motor will start when pushed.

Old 02-06-13, 07:05 AM
J
Thank you both!!