Thermostat in room that isn't heated (Help with Husband/Wife Argument)


  #1  
Old 02-18-13, 05:42 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thermostat in room that isn't heated (Help with Husband/Wife Argument)

Hi all!
I'm in a "heated" debate with my wife concerning our thermostat.
We rent an older house which has its only heat source as heated floors (gas/boiler).
The issue is my computer which is in the same room as the thermostat. Under normal conditions my computer is turned off and the thermostat is set at a comfortable level for the entire house. The thermostat and my computer (turned off) are in a room that does not have any heating piping under the floor so the door must be left open or else the rest of the house overheats trying to heat that closed room containing the thermostat.
Here's the other bit... When my computer is on it raises the temperature of this room (with the thermostat) about 4 degrees! Now, given this condition (computer ON and door open), the rest of the house still gets cold because it thinks everthing is 4 degrees warmer than it is.

Here's our argument:
I say: I can compensate for this by simply raising the thermostat 4 degrees while my computer is running (I don't mind the extra warmth in the office). This would keep the rest of the house at a comfortable temp and the furnace would function normally though at an indicated setting that is 4 degrees higher than when my computer is off.
She says: "Your solution costs us more money as everyone knows that people lower their thermostat to save money and you are raising ours by 4 degrees... how could that NOT cost more."

By all means, If i'm wrong I'll admit it but in my mind it seems that nothing is changing but what the actual numbers are on the thermostat.
She thinks I'm crazy!
Thanks to all in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 02-18-13, 07:49 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
What you are doing will work, or you should look at a venstar wireless thermostat to move it to another room. I recommend this thermostat because you are renting and it can easily be installed and removed when leaving. Kit Includes One T1100RF and One T1100REC
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=7K37tXnobtE
 
  #3  
Old 02-18-13, 09:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response.. That is a great suggestion and if spring wasn't around the corner (we don't have an AC unit) I would be tempted to go that route.
so, I am correct in insisting that this isn't affecting our bill?
many thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-13, 09:43 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Well, I don't know how much your thermostat changes due to the computer being on. So, should be adjusted 4F or only 2F that I can't say. But in theory you could do what you say, yes, and not affect the heat bill much if at all.
 
  #5  
Old 02-20-13, 04:04 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smaller computer

Nice computer, mabey it's time for a smaller one.
 

Last edited by drewboy684; 02-20-13 at 04:08 PM. Reason: Change of thought
  #6  
Old 02-20-13, 04:08 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,217
Received 1,178 Likes on 1,136 Posts
It seems to me that if you turn the thermostat up exactly as much as the computer is heating the room, you'd be at a wash.

What I believe your wife is missing is you aren't really turning up the thermostat, you're compensating for one which is temporarily working incorrectly (actually it's working fine, it's that it's being fed bad information).
 
  #7  
Old 02-20-13, 04:48 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the responses! It is greatly appreciated!!!
 
  #8  
Old 02-20-13, 10:07 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 2,148
Received 50 Likes on 44 Posts
Re-locate the stat for sure. With today's wireless models, there's no reason not to.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: