Furnace clicking on and off repeatedly

Old 02-28-13, 12:39 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace clicking on and off repeatedly

Hi all; new to the boards.

I am having an issue with my furnace and or stat; I am not very good with HVAC diagnosis, so I was hoping posting to these boards could give me some insight.

My furnace is a Ruud Achiever Super Quiet 80. It was installed about 5 years ago.

Basically the furnace will continuously click on and off. I am not quiet sure what the clicking sound is. It is a bit hard to explain so I recorded it with my iPhone.

Here is the recording: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1885149/furnace2.mp3

As you can hear it happens within seconds of each other and will go on for quite some time (although I only recorded about 10 seconds of it). It has been happening for about a week and until today would only happen for about 20 seconds then either stop or just continue heating the home as normal.

Today it just wouldn't stop, so after about 3 minutes or more, I just clicked the thermostat to the "off" position. After waiting about 30 mins I turned the thermostat back on and it is working fine. Fires up, flames blue, etc...

I am not sure what I should be looking at to see what the problem could be; for some reason I think it is related to the stat, but I have no way of knowing for sure. I have an old honeywell chronotherm stat.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-13, 02:45 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Weak batteries in your thermostat? Failing thermostat? Failing control board? Could be any of those.

Old 02-28-13, 04:34 PM
I had a similar problem that happened randomly. The burner would kick on for 10 seconds then shut off. This repeated until enough heat was produced to kick the blower on. I noticed the temp reading would fluctuate up and down a degree like the t-stat couldn't decide what reading to display.