Carrier Weather Maker 8000 won't re-ignite


  #1  
Old 03-08-13, 11:43 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Carrier Weather Maker 8000 won't re-ignite

First I had no heat at all and called out a service tech. He said I needed a new control board and I was quoted a price by his company of $869.00. I went online, found one for $149.00 and bought it. I repleaced the old control board and then put the power on, turned up the thermostat and it fired right up. After congratulating myself, I went off to other projects. Ten minutes later I had no heat. I checked everything as best I could, turned of power to the furnace and then turned it back on. In about 2 minutes the furnace fired right up again. It seems to only fire if I turn off the power to the unit and turn it back on.

Does anyone have any guidance for me on this. I'm rather perplexed.
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-13, 12:50 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 3,927
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
It's best to start with a complete description of what happens when you turn the thermostat up.

Example: Inducer motor starts, ignitor lights, etc.

You are there but we can't see whats going on so you need to tell us.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-13, 02:38 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
Do you have a blinking LED visible through the furnace door when it fails to light?
Count the short flashes and long flashes.
Post this information for better assistance.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-13, 03:13 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
By cycling the power you are resetting the control board and erasing the diagnostic code.
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-13, 07:36 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I removed the cover that is where the large fan is and had to tape the switch closed that opens when the cover is removed. The furnace then cycled, lit and ran for a 7 -8 minutes. Then the flames stopped and the two blowers kept running. The code was 3 short and 3 long. After a few more minutes, both blowers stopped and the code became 1 short and 3 long.
What do I need to check now? A thousand thanks for all the help.
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-13, 01:45 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Sounds like you have a plugged filter


 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: