York diamond 90 no heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-09-13, 10:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York diamond 90 no heat

Ok, I have seen similar issues, but those options so far have not helped. I have a York Diamond 90 and it was working this morning. Now it is not. It trys to start, but does not light. Here is what it does:

draft motor starts up.
After a few seconds, I here the gas valve click (on?).
After 5-6 seconds, gas valve clicks again (off?).
I do not see any glow for the igniter starting up.
draft motor continues to run.
No error code lights.

Any ideas???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-13, 08:44 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
check for voltage to the ignitor before the gas valve opens and after the inducer starts. If you have 120V then it is likely that the ignitor is failed.
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-13, 11:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was the ignitor. I tried an ohm test on the ignitor, and got no reading. After I removed it, I found it was broken. I got a replacement from a local repair shop. It did not look the same, but they assured me it was a replacement. Now after getting it in, it works most of the time. Now avery so often, it fails to light. Twice I went down and ended up pulling the sight glass cover off and it lights up every time, but with the cover on, it does not ignite the gas once in a while, even though the ignitor does glow.
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-13, 03:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds as though it is slightly out of position.
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-13, 03:50 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I've had this problem when the supplier does not give you an exact replacement.
I returned the part and located a matching replacement.
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-13, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure that I can really move it around. The bracket that holds it in is a little different then what came out. It also did not cover the opening that it goes through completely. There was a different bracket that covers the hole completely, but I had to drill the holes to match the screw holes in the burner box. That seems to have helped.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: