Concord Furnace Kicking Out After Start-up

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-13, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Concord Furnace Kicking Out After Start-up

Hi,

I'm having issues with my Concord 90+ High Efficiency Furnace, here is the sequence of events:

Furnace would run and intermittently kick out and not come back on, after turning the furnace switch off then on again it would refire and run for a few days then the same issue would happen.

I checked the furnace filter and it was severely plugged so I pulled it out and ran it without a filter until I got a new one (one or two days later).

Furnace ran as before, kicking out intermittently, getting more and more frequent, thinking it was the thermostat I replaced it with one of those new Nest thermostats, the furnace then ran for a couple days then began kicking out each start-up after 1 minute.

I took a look at the furnace and noticed that the drain hose was full of water, I pulled it out and let the water drain, I then blew through it and it appeared clear, I then hooked up a shop vac to the air intake and exhaust and there appeared to be no restrictions.

I uploaded the video below onto one of those asking forums that helps you and you pay a bit a money to have a certified person look at it, he did and told me I needed a new monther board, I replaced the monther board and the pressure switch just to be safe.

IMG 2984 - YouTube

After replacing both, the clicking stopped however, I still get the error code - Pressure Switch Closed with Inducer Off

Any help or further suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-13, 04:17 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like you have a control board issue
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-13, 12:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replaced it already, it stopped the clicking that you hear in the video but still shuts down.
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-13, 01:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clean the flame sensor..............
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-13, 01:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,477
Received 21 Votes on 17 Posts
Did you run a drill bit through the steel nipple where the hose from the pressure switch connects to the fan housing?
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-13, 12:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No I didn't, would that help? and I will try to clean the flame sensor.. I cleaned the ignitor.
 
  #7  
Old 04-05-13, 12:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,477
Received 21 Votes on 17 Posts
The steel nipple WILL rust and corrode internally and that will block the airflow signal to the pressure switch. Probably a large number of the pressure switches replaced were fine and dandy but needed the connection to the ID fan cleared.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: