Miller furnace won't run

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-18-13, 05:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Miller furnace won't run

This seems to be the spring to replace everything at my cottage.

I have a 20yo miller lp furnace. I had the tank filled this week and the pilot went out. When I showed up today and try to restart the furnace it won't run. The pilot is lit and the blower work because I can manually start that. I can't hear the small motor that runs it light. That motor won't run when I turn it on. I already double checked the thermostat. Any ideas? Is there a reset maybe?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-18-13, 06:42 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Take the cover off the burner compartment of the furnace.

Describe in detail and in order the sequence of events that occurs when you turn up the thermostat.



You have a standing pilot light that remains on all the time --- is that right?
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-13, 01:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah standees pilot. When I term the thermostat up I hear a slight buzz and that's it.

Usually you a motor running and furnace ignites then a minute later the fan will kick on.

Now when I turn the thermostat up I don't here the motor running.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-13, 03:06 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A motor for what?


Most furnaces that have standing pilots only have a motor to circulate air around the house. Is that the motor you are talking about, or another?

Do you have a multimeter and understand how to use it?

You want to measure the AC voltage between the furnace sheet metal ground and the W terminal on the furnace. You should see 24 VAC appear at that terminal when the thermostat is turned up.

Check to see if you have AC voltage turned on to the furnace.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-13, 08:41 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,024
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Probably a silly question but, when you lit the pilot did you turn the gas valve from the pilot setting to "on"?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: