Size of furnance?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-13, 09:06 AM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,563
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Size of furnance?

Hi, All
I have an older house (1960's) that is 850 sq ft with 1 floor & partly finished basement. I have put new windows, 1-3/4" foam on outside, & some extra insulation in attic. The furnance is 60,000 btu. I live in eastern Ontario & possible to see -35C. Do I still need 60,000 or would I be better with somethin smaller?? Oh, Natural gas, if it makes a differance.. Thanks Roger
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-13, 07:41 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A manual J load calculation needs to be done in order to answer your question. This is something you can do by purchasing the software.... or you can call a HVAC professional to do it for you.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-13, 09:13 AM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,563
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I have no idea what that is,, Sorry, but is a "J load" a math thing (like HP & Torque) with a formula?? I've never heard of it, but would be interested to learn what it is,,, Roger
OK I Googled it & your right, It's not just a numbers thing I can do,, Time to call someone Thanks,, Roger
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: