Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Gas and Oil Home Heating Furnaces
Reload this Page >

Tempstar Furnace Blower starts then stops, then ignition and blower starts again

Tempstar Furnace Blower starts then stops, then ignition and blower starts again

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-13, 01:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tempstar Furnace Blower starts then stops, then ignition and blower starts again

I have a 3 year old Tempstar furnace. Recently when the thermostat calls for heat the blower kicks on for about 10-15 seconds then stops. Shortly after that the burner ignites and the fan starts again and stays on until the thermostat temp is satisified. I've cleaned the heat sensor but that did not fix the problem.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-13, 02:19 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
What make and model of thermostat do you have? IF you disconnect the wire on G at the thermostat does it act normally with a call for heat?
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-13, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The thermostat is a Simple Comfort 2000. I disconnected the green wire as you suggested and then it worked normally with the burners igniting first and then the fan coming on. Does that imply a bad thermostat?
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-13, 12:50 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
it is either a bad thermostat or the thermostat is set up for electric heat instead of gas heat
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-13, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It had worked properly for over 3 years and until just a couple of weeks ago so I presume it is wired properly.
 
  #6  
Old 04-22-13, 01:26 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Who said anything about it being wired properly? Perhaps, someone changed the setup program for the thermostat ... just something to check but more than likely you're correct it Needs the new thermostat
 
  #7  
Old 04-22-13, 01:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm feeling like an idiot right now. I just realized after you indicated that it might be setup for electric and not gas heat that there is a switch controlling gas or electric and when I changed the batteries several weeks ago I bumped that switch and changed the setting to electric. I changed it back to gas and now everything is working ok. Thanks for your help with this. I really appreciate it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: