No power to thermostat/furnace.

Old 06-01-13, 11:17 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No power to thermostat/furnace.

My Honeywell circular non-programmable thermostat went blank the other day. It would not display or turn on the AC/fan. After initially just thinking I'd have to change the tstat, I did some googling and realized that is probably not the issue. I pulled the face of the tstat and used a multimeter to test R-Y, R-G, and R-W, and all read 00.00. However, I have very little experience with a multimeter. I have a horizontal mount gas fired high efficiency furnace in my crawlspace. I seem to remember that when it was working, there would always be a light that I could see through a little glass circle on the blower enclosure. That is no longer lit. Can't find manufacturer on unit, but may be a Goodman. Any help would be much appreciated. Here is a list of things that may help you help me:
- Checked 5 amp fuse on control board and it's fine
- it does not have a float switch. It was emptying onto the rock in my crawlspace, until I encapsulated the space and ran the condenser and furnace drains into the sump pit.
- I reset all breakers
- The local power control (light switch) for the furnace is turned on.
- The furnace is about (8) years old

Sponsored Links
Old 06-02-13, 03:27 AM
Group Moderator
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

In the pic below I have drawn two red arrows pointing to the leads on your transformer.
Using your voltmeter..... you should measure 120 vac on the white and black leads (left side) and 24 vac on the orange and looks like brown wire (right side).

Name:  work.jpg
Views: 6259
Size:  42.5 KB

Old 06-02-13, 05:58 AM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
remember to push in the door switch when testing for power.

Old 06-02-13, 07:49 AM
Thank you for the clear instructions. I'm getting 124V on the left side and 00.00 on the right.

Old 06-02-13, 04:28 PM
blown transformer....................................