York HVAC control board , thermostat, AC wiring connection


  #1  
Old 06-03-13, 10:51 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
York HVAC control board , thermostat, AC wiring connection

Hi All,

Hopefully this will be a simple one. Worked on replacing a furnace fan blower this past winter, which fixed our heater. But, I may have put the thermostat, but especially the wiring of to the AC system outside incorrectly. This is because when I turn on the AC to auto , only the internal fan will turn on. The AC fan blower outside doesn't even turn on, nor the compressor as I don't hear that usual sound the way you do with a refrigerator.

Anyway, attached are pics of control board and the way the brown cables (which contain either 2-R,W , or 4 smaller wires - G,Y,R,W ) connect to the control board. One has 4 wires going to the thermostat, the other has 2 going to outside AC system.
Did I connect the one with 2 wires(R, W) wrong?

I can upload other picture if it is not readable.

York model numbers:
FURNACE(indoor system): GY8S115C20UH11B
HVAC(AC, outdoor sysetm): H3RA060S06G ,

Thanks in advance.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by legende; 06-03-13 at 11:12 AM.
  #2  
Old 06-03-13, 11:09 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
fixed it !?

Did a little more reading and braved myself to move the white(W) wire from the brown cable containing the 2 small wirse (R,W) to terminal on control board marked "C", for common I guess. This seemed to have fixed the issue as the outside AC blower is working now as well as the compressor. Let me know if it matters if either Red (R) wire is on the Y2 terminal and "W" wire is on the C terminal, or vice versa.
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by legende; 06-03-13 at 11:23 AM. Reason: attached pictures
  #3  
Old 06-03-13, 05:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Since you are dealing with an AC voltage.... there really is no polarity to the connections. It will work either way.
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-13, 06:06 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Good job figuring it out on your own!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: