Using the furance as a fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-13, 05:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using the furance as a fan

I'm sure this question has been asked 1,000+times but I can't seem to find the answer I am looking for (likely because I'm not very knowledgeable about hvac terms).

My T stat is relatively new (digital, programmable, has heat, cooling, off, and fan only options). But only has two wires coming into it (even though there are spaces for 8 or so). R and W connected as expected. I was hoping to add another wire (or 18/2 wiring) from G to the furnace so I could run the fan off the T stat.

Here is my question... Looking at my furnace there appears to only be two spots to put wires (R and W). I have added a picture of this. Can this be either jumped out or can I add a wire from G to either the R or W in the furnace? Other options?

Thanks!!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-13, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,849
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
Do you have a furnace (forced air) or a water boiler (with baseboard/radiators) ?

If you indeed have an oil fired furnace you would need to install a fan control relay center.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-13, 11:31 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,878
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
That's the oil burner ignition module/controller.

Is there any other low voltage wiring in the furnace?

Odds are that your furnace doesn't have a fan relay in it unless it's newer.

There's another way to get the fan to run continuously...

Locate the fan/limit switch (do a google image search) and push in the white peg if there is one.
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-13, 02:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies guys. I will see what I can get figured out and report back!

It is an oil forced hot air furnace.

-Adam
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-13, 04:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,849
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
You will have to add a fan relay center if you want to be able to manually turn on fan from thermostat. Right now your blower is strictly activated by a heat thermostat inside the unit.
 
  #6  
Old 06-18-13, 04:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,214
Upvotes: 0
Received 21 Votes on 18 Posts
Sounds familiar-

Fan only for Regal oil-air furnace & Honeywell thermostat

Originally Posted by Hal_S
... the H-221 thermostat has "fan auto" and "fan on" settings, just go around to thinking about how to get them working for the blower.

Originally Posted by NJ Trooper

I'm sure that all you need to do is pull a new thermostat wire set and make the connections. Duh.
Grrr. NJ Trooper was just posting wrong information. Wild goose chase.
Additional wires are not going to do any good.
Oil burner needs an additional controller adapter before it can use a fan control wire.

Originally Posted by Hal_S
The R7184 controller design works with an A/C terminal block and transformer, the Beckett 51950U.
Allows a/c control, and fan control.
So, my guess is that you'll need to get an add on A/C controller to add fan control to your oil furnace system.
 
  #7  
Old 06-19-13, 06:26 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is a Thermo-Pride furnace. There should be a "fan center" mounted in the burner compartment. Run a piece of 18/2 to it & connect at R & G on the fan center. On your thermostat, you need to remove the jumper between Rh & Rc. Connect the existing wires to Rh & W. Connect the new wire to Rc & G. When you turn the fan switcg "on", the fan should run. You can also set the stat to "cool" & turn it below room temp to bring the fan on.

Here's a link to the manual. http://www.thermopride.com/pdf/OilFiredFurnace.pdf
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-13, 12:13 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,849
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
Wow.....I am impressed Grady in that you recognized that furnace from that picture.
 
  #9  
Old 06-20-13, 05:53 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I worked on & sold them for 20+ years. Finest piece of oil fired equipment out there. Only downfall is they weigh a ton.
 
  #10  
Old 07-05-13, 04:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Grady,

This has been put on the back burner for now, but I will get back to it (hopefully even on Monday or Tuesday). I won't hesitate to pester with questions!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: