A power outlet with switch from the power feed/control feed to TRANE XE 60


  #1  
Old 07-19-13, 11:15 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A power outlet with switch from the power feed/control feed to TRANE XE 60

Hello,

We live in NJ and we bought this house 3 years back. We have not replaced the furnace yet and I don't think it was ever replaced so approx. age is about 21 years.

There had been a switch (see picture) and an outlet underneath which in turn goes to the control/circuit of the furnace.

If the switch is off, the furnace/blower would not start.

Any idea what is the purpose of the power outlet might be ?

Thank you.

--Pratik Patel
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 07-19-13, 11:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Obviously the switch is a service switch for the furnace. The receptacle could be for a serviceman receptacle or possibly for a humidifier.
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-13, 11:26 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Any idea what is the purpose of the power outlet might be ?
It is for a service person to plug in a work light, other power tools or a combustion analyzer. If there is another receptacle within 25 feet of the furnace you do not need the one on the furnace itself.
 
  #4  
Old 07-19-13, 11:31 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you Furd and PJmax

There are many receptacle in less than 10 feet (atleast 6). There is also humidifier on the other side of the furnace (not in use).

Thank you again.
 
  #5  
Old 07-19-13, 12:01 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
When I had a new furnace installed the company insisted on installing a receptacle alongside the service switch. When I pointed out the receptacle not three feet from the furnace they installer merely shrugged and said it was company policy. After they came back a month later and installed the correct furnace I took off the unneeded receptacle.
 
  #6  
Old 07-19-13, 08:49 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
I often install them at the furnace when installing 120VAC UV lamps.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: