Rudd Heater (Twin Pack) "Enducer" motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-25-13, 01:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rudd Heater (Twin Pack) "Inducer" motor

I have a twin pack (AC and heater in one unit) on the roof. Manufacturer is Rudd.

The unit is about 20 years old, I guess because the house is build 1993 and the heater unit seems to be the original one. A/C is working fine but the heater does not operate at all. It needs an "Inducer" motor however, the tag on the unit with model number on it is bleached out by sunshine.

Who of you guys are familiar with Rudd units? I need the model number for Inducer motor.

Thanks for Help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-25-13, 01:18 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
There may be addition model info inside one of the covers. My Trane unit has some where the control modules and relays are.

If you post all the info you can read or find...someone may be able to assist. Some (not all) HVAC stores can be helpful if they sell to consumers. Many do for items like that, just not burners, heat exchangers and A/C parts.

I'd imagine that was used on many units of that time and even later. They may be able to match it by sight.

By the way...it's "inducer"...not enducer.
 
  #3  
Old 07-25-13, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for advise. I do not have access to the unit right now. Once I get access I will try to find out the model number and post it here.

By the way... It it easy to replace an "Inducer" motor?
 
  #4  
Old 07-25-13, 03:47 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Depends....on my package unit I had to sorta bend/pry stuff out of the way so I could disassemble and lube it. Dunno how a Pro would do it or how they put it together originally. Mine is from '90.

You'll probably need some gasket material as well.
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-13, 06:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you have? Twin Pack or separate system?
 
  #6  
Old 07-25-13, 06:44 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
We call them packaged units out here. Normally roof installed. Though back in VA I saw them installed at ground level since duct work was normally in the crawlspace. Very few crawls or basements here.
 
  #7  
Old 08-12-13, 08:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here a picture of the packaged unit. Does anyone know what kind of "Inducer" motor would fit in?
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 08-13-13, 07:34 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
not without a model number... NOPE!
 
  #9  
Old 09-04-13, 01:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi guys,

I have the model# for the Rheem packaged unit.
It is RHEEM: RRGG-05N31JKR. (see below picture)

What "Inducer Motor" dose fit?

Thanks,
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 09-05-13, 08:45 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I believe the part number for your inducer is: 51-21964-11. Before ordering, confirm the part number vs. your model number.
 
  #11  
Old 09-05-13, 08:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the advise.
Where is the cheapest place to get it?
 
  #12  
Old 09-06-13, 12:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is someone out there who can help me install the Inducer?
 
  #13  
Old 09-07-13, 11:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got some pictures from original Inducer motor.

Can somebody explain what an Inducer motor does?

Does it cause that the whole furnace can't start and operate if this little inducer motor does not work?
 
Attached Images     
  #14  
Old 09-08-13, 08:31 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,987
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
"

Is someone out there who can help me install the Inducer?
"

Maybe, but a good contractor can replace it for you.

I don't recommend replacing any part if you don't know what the part in question does. Yes, the furnace won't heat without a working inducer.
 
  #15  
Old 09-08-13, 08:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The heater does not turn on and doesn't make any noise. Is it caused by this little Inducer motor?
 
  #16  
Old 09-10-13, 08:15 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It sounds to me like you need to call a qualified local contractor. There are dozens of things which can cause a furnace not to run.
 
  #17  
Old 09-18-13, 03:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a bid from heater contractor that says:

"tri legged inducer motor"

Is that the inducer motor shown in the pictures above or something else? because why "tri legged inducer motor". The motor has four legs.
 
  #18  
Old 09-18-13, 05:18 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If there are 3 wires going to it, "tri legged" could refer to that. I suggest you question the contractor.
 
  #19  
Old 09-18-13, 07:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is 5 wires going out to it.

1 Black
1 Red
1 Brown
2 Orange on the top


Please see above pictures.

Is that the "tri legged inducer motor" ?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: