Goodman gmp 100=4 gas furnance blower stays on


  #1  
Old 08-02-13, 06:56 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman gmp 100=4 gas furnance blower stays on

Pls nelp tks so much replaced fan limit switch.. Solid red light no blinks..how to test if need new control board?
 
  #2  
Old 08-02-13, 07:14 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,374
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
You didn't give much information to go on. When you say "solid red light" are you saying you think you have a problem with your control board? A solid red light indicates normal operation.
When it flashes that will indicate what the issue might be. For example, 1 blink is ignition failure, 2 blinks is closed pressure switch, 3 blinks is pressure switch failure to close, 4 blinks is open limit switch and etc.
 

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 08-02-13 at 07:32 PM.
  #3  
Old 08-03-13, 06:20 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
what is the FAN setting at the thermostat? ON or AUTO?
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-13, 09:54 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman gmp 100=4 gas furnance blower stays on

Pulled g green wiread at thermostat blower stays on.. Bad control board?? Do i have to pull g wire at or on the control board? Tks for help appreciated.. Ken
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-13, 10:04 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Please use the same original thread you started..... I have now combined both threads.

Yes, remove the G wire from the control board to eliminate the thermostat wiring as a cause.
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-13, 11:01 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,374
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
If you can pull the G wire off and the fan continues to run it points to a defective control board. Another thing to do is to examine the low voltage control wiring and ensure the G wire is not touching any other wire. As I said in an earlier response the blink codes normally give you an indication of where to start looking for a problem on your furnace. The codes should be located on a plate on your furnace.
 
  #7  
Old 08-06-13, 04:22 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Tks no auto on or blower only setting...no blinks from red light... pulled g green wire blower stays on ..control board expensive!!! are repaired ... or rebuild exchange available?? tks so much for the help..really appreciated... best ken
 
  #8  
Old 08-06-13, 08:03 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,374
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Is your thermostat fan setting "auto" or "on"? Not clear from your last post. In your original post you stated you replaced the fan limit switch. Was the fan running all the time before you replaced the fan limit switch? Why did you replace the fan limit switch? Were you getting blink codes on your control board to indicate a fan limit problem? If a limit switch is "open" it can cause the fan to run continuously. Yes, control boards are expensive but running your fan 24 hours a day until you solve your issue will be more expensive.
 

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 08-06-13 at 08:46 AM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: