Lennox G61MPVT stopped working.

Old 09-02-13, 06:24 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lennox G61MPVT stopped working.

Hi guys. I'm a newbie here. I don't know the correct terminology to describe the various parts of my heater, but I am a qualified car mechanic, so have some tech skills. Here in Aus we don't get as cold as you guys. We see snow maybe 2 or 3 days in a year, but summer temps can be well over 100. Still, it gets cold enough to want heating in winter!
Yesterday our heating was fine, but after a brief power out the system has stopped working. It is a Lennox, model number according to the sticker isG61MPVT-60C-090-01. The stat is ComfortSense 3000 series, model 51M35.
Symptoms are; the small fan, I assume it's some sort of draught fan for ignition, is running, but ignition is not occurring. From reading this forum I discovered the LED diagnosis. Mine is flashing 2 then 3. The info on the door says that this means a blocked exhaust or inlet or condensate tube. I've tried to find anything blocked but nothing obvious seems to be. I'm not sure how far I can go before I need the "$175 before I look" man to come.
The system was installed in March 2007, and has been trouble free apart from a faulty SignatureStat a few years back.
Can anyone help?

Old 09-02-13, 06:42 PM
F
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Look for a pressure switch near the induced draft fan. The switch will be about 3 to 3-1/2 inches in diameter. There will be a synthetic rubber hose from the switch to the housing of the draft fan. Remove that hose and make sure it is clear. Then, using a succession of sizes, run a drill bit through the hose nipple on the draft fan housing until you know it is clear. Replace the hose and try the furnace.

Post back if that doesn't work.

Old 09-02-13, 07:03 PM
G
Thanks, Furd. Under the house I go.

Old 09-02-13, 07:46 PM
G
Name:  2013-09-03 12.11.47.jpg
Views: 821
Size:  35.3 KBName:  2013-09-03 12.11.38.jpg
Views: 612
Size:  37.3 KB