Goodman GSM100-4 ignition problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-13, 08:00 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman GSM100-4 ignition problems

I have a ten year old Goodman furnace that is getting cranky. When the thermostat calls for heat, the furnace cycles up and ignites. Initially, the flame does not spread to the far right burner where the flame sensor is located. The flame stops on # 4 burner. After a second or two the gas is cut off and the system attempts to restart. On the second or third try, the far right burner finally ignites and the furnace runs as it should.

I have disassembled the burner box and cleaned the burner assemblies taking care to ensure there is no crud left behind. The gas orifices are clean and all the connections are tight.

Any Ideas?
Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-13, 08:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,085
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You need to check the carry over ports in the burner. On some burners it's a series of holes and on some it's slots. It's the way one burner is lit from the previous burner.
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-13, 06:52 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did notice that some of the carry-over slots were narrower than others. I used a small chisel to slightly open them up. Are there specs out there regarding the right gap?
Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-13, 08:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,085
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
They just need to be cleaned. Don't enlarge or modify them.

There won't be specs listed on slot width as it's not a changeable item.
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-13, 10:48 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have disassembled the furnace again. The gaps were reset to 0.020" as measured from an untouched manifold tube. The tubes were reinspected to make sure they were clean. I then traded out the number 1 tube with the number five to see if there was any difference. Reassembled and fired up the furnace. The flame now stops at the first burner, upon the second starting cycle, all burners fired.
I have tried several more starts. The above pattern repeats itself or it fires up correctly.
Could there be anything else I could try?
FYI I also have a second Goodman furnace that functions perfectly.
Thank you.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: