Trane XE 80-problem


  #1  
Old 09-26-13, 07:09 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trane XE 80-problem

Hi,

I have a Trane xe80 that is the original unit in the house (16 yrs). I replaced the high limit switch 3 days ago when the burners would not stay lot and the LED code was blinking. It was fine for about half a day and then would not fire up when it came on. The local repair guy replaced the pressure
Switch 2 nights ago, but that didn't help. It's frustrating since I can turn it off fora little while and then turn it back on and it will work for a period of time. It worked yesterday from noon until about 0400 this morning when it did not ignite the burners and was blowing cold air. I'd love to avoid the $200/hr service charge tonight, since they don't know what is wrong with it. It's starting to get a little chilly in Alaska.
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-13, 07:11 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,528
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
What code are you getting when lockout occurs now?
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-13, 06:02 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No code shows up at all now, so not sure what the problem is.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-13, 07:01 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,528
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
I've seen this occur when a non digital stat is dusty.
I have removed the cover and brushed the points with a dry paint brush then blown out the area aound a small ball bearing.

When a stat is located above a return air intake grill dirt can build up in the furnace.

Could this apply here?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: