Inducer Fan Keep Running, No Heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-13, 08:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Inducer Fan Keep Running, No Heat

Somehow the inducer fan in the furnace began to keep running regardless the position of the thermostat a couple of months ago but cooling was not a problem. Now it is getting cold, and I realize the heat is not on. When I turned on the power, I noticed the LED on the computer board (50A55-571) flashed 11 times, and then 6 times periodically, and if I quickly release the power switch and on again, it flashes 3 times periodically... The diagnostic manual did not give any meaning of 11 and 6 flashes at all.

Not sure if there is anybody can help me do more diagnose... Budget is tight so try to do it myself first.

Millions of thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-13, 08:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Since your draft inducer motor is running all the time.... fault code 3 makes the most sense. That code is related to the pressure switch. The control board tells the inducer when to start. When it starts the pressure switch changes and the board sees that and tells the furnace that it's ok to light.
The inducer is always running > no pressure change > no heat

I would try removing the white wire from the W terminal and see if inducer still runs. If yes.... it would indicate a defective control module.

Module information:
White Rodgers - control module - PDF
 
  #3  
Old 10-10-13, 09:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wow, very helpful! I will look into it right away.
 
  #4  
Old 10-10-13, 10:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update: I disconnected the white wire to terminal W but the fan still runs... So Should I replace the circuit board?
 
  #5  
Old 10-10-13, 11:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
I hate to "just replace" things but in my opinion.... that board is defective.

Nothing else I know of will keep the draft inducer running.
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-13, 09:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I have ordered the new part and will update when I did the replacement.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: