carrier 58GP100-AA limit switch location

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-11-13, 08:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
carrier 58GP100-AA limit switch location

Our furnace has apparently overheated, and a local technician suggested we reset the limit switch. I'm not the handiest guy around, but I cannot locate the limit switch or any type of reset button. We located a manual online that showed the location on the top of the furnace, but we have no such switch or button. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-11-13, 09:27 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your limit switch should look like this photo. It is supposed to auto-reset after it cools down. This switch usually "trips" because of restricted air flow such as a dirty air filter, dirty evaporator coil, blocked return air, faulty blower motor and etc. It is usually located behind the inducer fan motor area, To test it you can turn off power to furnace, remove the wires from either side of the limit switch, and connect the two wires you removed together. If the two wires are too short to connect you use a jumper wire like a paper clip to join the terminals. Tape it together and turn power back on to the furnace and set thermostat to heat. If the furnace works properly then you know the limit switch is the problem and needs to be replaced. Bypassing the limit switch is for testing purposes only and can't be used to operate the furnace. The limit switch is a safety device and must always be operating properly or you can put yourself at severe risk of fire.
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 10-11-13, 09:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,373
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts



This diagram shows a vent safety shutoff switch with a manual reset.
If it tripped you would want to inspect the vent piping for a restriction.

Describe what your furnace is doing when no demand is present.
What does it do when given a heating demand?
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-13, 01:32 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
<<Describe what your furnace is doing when no demand is present.
What does it do when given a heating demand?

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/gas-oil-home-heating-furnaces/507631-carrier-58gp100-aa-limit-switch-location.html#ixzz2hXPLYWdh>>>


The advice you got to reset a limit switch that resets itself automatically was poor.


Take the cover off the burner compartment of the furnace. Carefully observe and describe to us the sequence of events which occurs when you turn up the thermostat, and perhaps we'll be able to help you.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-13, 10:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,561
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have a constant operating blower and no heat, and you have a counter-flo furnace you may have an open manual reset limit. Located in the blower compartment, but the reset is usually sticking out on the right top side.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: