"Open limit" preventing my furnace from staying on

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-13, 11:28 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question "Open limit" preventing my furnace from staying on

In my house I have a York Diamond 80 furnace, model number P2MPD14N08001D. Two days ago I turned on the heater at the thermostat and the furnace kicked on, started blowing air and then turned off after about two minutes. After doing this several times I opened the furnace up and noticed that the indicator light was flashing. I looked up the code and it says it has a "open limit". I replaced the primary limit switch, reset the two auxiliary limit switches located above the blower and restored power to the unit. It turned on as it was supposed to but kicked itself back off about five minutes later and gave the same "open limit" code as before. Any ideas why or what I can try to do next to remedy the problem?
 

Last edited by JCBHARDIN; 10-16-13 at 11:29 PM. Reason: Incorrect model number on original post
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-13, 11:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,771
Received 931 Votes on 868 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You can trip a high heat limit with poor airflow or dirty air filter.
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-13, 11:42 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The current air filter is just over two weeks old and is still extremely clean. Is there anything else that can cause poor airflow?
 
  #4  
Old 10-17-13, 05:37 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Poor air flow can also be caused by a dirty evaporator coil, closed air vents, blocked or restricted return air, inadequate return air, collapsed ducts, leaking ducts, and using filters that are too dense.
 
  #5  
Old 10-17-13, 07:34 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
If you are using pleated filters, especially the ultra filtering ones, take it out & get a cheap glass fiber filter. Test to see if the problem goes away.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: