Carrier Weathermaker 58SXC100-JG Intermittent Heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-19-13, 10:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier Weathermaker 58SXC100-JG Intermittent Heat



Several days ago our furnace was not heating. I talked to a few co-workers and they immediately identified the igniter, so a new igniter went in. The furnace started working again, but only for a few days.

A few days went by and it stopped working again... I pulled the lower cover and the LED flashed code 12 during start up for heat, followed by code 31 as the inducer motor starts up and runs. This time no igniter glow.

Code 31 equates to a pressure switch, so a new pressure switch went in today. Started up the furnace again code 12 when the blower fan kicks on, followed by code 31 with the inducer and again no igniter glow.

So I checked on here and found a thread about the condensers cans and drain lines getting all clogged up. I pulled my condenser and sure enough it had a bunch of gunk in there. Got it all cleaned up and back together, and still had a code 31 with no igniter glow.

Checked this site again and found another thread about the ventilation ducts being blocked. Kicked the furnace on and ran outside to check my 2 pipes. One was blowing air and the other was sucking air. Neither was plugged up by anything and the furnace still wasn't running.

Next just out of curiosity I disconnected the PVC pipe to the inducer and just let it suck ambient air. This time the igniter plug glowed and the heat kicked on. I slipped the PVC pipe back onto the inducer and everything is working fine, at least for now.

To recap: I have a new igniter, pressure switch, clean condenser, & the ventilation pipes are not blocked. The only time I can get the furnace to provide heat is by disconnecting the PVC pipe to the inducer during start up.

Any ideas what could be going on?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-20-13, 09:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,590
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The pressure switch carefully monitors the draft and pressure conditions. All the lines must be clean.

Did you also check the small rubber lines that connect to the pressure switch(es). Check the actual fittings at the blower to make sure they are clean too.
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-13, 10:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 317
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some of the Carrier/Bryant 90's have a screen at the intake side of the furnace. Leafs or moths can clog it enough where the pressure switch won't make.
 
  #4  
Old 10-20-13, 08:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the welcome.

Yes I blew thru all the lines associated to the pressure switch before I bought the replacement.
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-13, 09:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tinmantu: can you explain more about the screen on the intake side? Are you referring to the intake pipe on the outside of the house, or the intake pipe attached to the top of my furnace?

Where in KS are you located? I used to live in Wichita for 20+ years.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-13, 08:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 317
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have one, it should be on the furnace itself where the pvc enters. As I recall it's not a fine screen. I live on the west end of Kansas. About an hour from the Colo. border. Nice short drive to get to the mountains.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: