Woke up to smoke alarm

Old 10-26-13, 04:02 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Woke up to smoke alarm

Around 1 or 2 days ago I noticed that when the furnace(gas) fan kicked in, it would shut off within a couple seconds, only to try again around 10 to 15 seconds later. It was doing this non stop so I figured I would try to get a HVAC guy to check it but because I'm a unemployed college student, I'm trying to get a "friend of a friend" to check it out for a reasonable price.

I woke up last night to the smell of smoke so I went looking around and noticed a little bit of white smoke in the basement, 2x the smoke on the main floor and a lot of smoke on the 2nd floor. At first I assumed something was smoking upstairs but since the fan wasn't kicking in, why would smoke be on the other floors? I figure it had to start in the furnace and since smoke rises, most of it went upstairs through the vents.

I turned off the heat and fan at the thermostat but for some reason the fan started to run like normal and the house started to fill with a lot of smoke so I ran downstairs and I could hear a squeaking noise that sounds like it might be a worn bearing. I quickly shut power off at the breaker.

I took off the panels for the furnace and noticed that the motor was very hot (too hot to touch)

Do u think its the fan motor that needs to be replaced or could it be something else that caused the motor to overheat? Also, with no power at the furnace, I don't have to worry about carbon monoxide if the pilot light is still lit, right?

I turned the furnace on a few weeks ago and it was working fine until I heard the fan cycling on and off a day and a half ago. If anybody's wondering, I do have smoke detectors and they went off. I'm glad I was home when this happened cuz it could've turned out a lot worse.

Mike K

Old 10-26-13, 06:06 AM
Received 729 Upvotes on 644 Posts