Newb Question - Changing Thermostat, Power related

Old 10-31-13, 01:24 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Newb Question - Changing Thermostat, Power related

So i'm a newb to homeownership, but i have relatively decent common sense, and know my way around the Do's and Dont's of DIY.

Our home has Oil heat hot water radiators, 2 zones (main floor, and second floor) and 200 amp electrical with the main fuse panel down by the burner (burner is only 4 months old. Previous owners put in a brand new one prior to us purchasing the home). The thermostat on the first floor however is ancient. So i'm tasking myself with replacing it with a new Honeywell touch programmable. Wiring it up is simple enough and easily within my realm of experience, however i want to verify something before i tackle it......

Power wise, everything i've read says cut the power to the thermostat before working on it to prevent shock (obviously self explanatory) however is the thermostat ALWAYS tied into the power for the Oil Burner? Or is it possible its on another separate power line.

I ask just because i cut the power to the burner last night, but the old school analog thermostat still "clicks" when i turn the dial to the on position from Off where its been all summer. Now i'm not sure if this is just a mechanical sound, or if its indeed electrical and the Stat is pulling its power from somewhere else that wasnt turned off when i shut down the breakers for the burner. Obviously quick and easy fix would be to turn off the mains to the home, but i feel like thats extreme and silly for such a quick job.

So gurus.......is the power pulled from the Burner, and the clicking i'm hearing is just mechanical? Safe to shut off the breaker for the Burner, and go to work?