Gas floor furnace pilot light won't stay lit

Old 11-08-13, 02:09 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas floor furnace pilot light won't stay lit

Hey everyone, I'm brand new on this forum but judging by the quick and helpful posts I've seen on other threads on this board. I thought I'd come here and try to get some help.

As the title says, that's pretty much the whole problem. I'll give as many details as I can below. And I'll go ahead and say beforehand that I'm not too experienced with things like this, so if I don't follow along right away just be patient with me, haha.

I've got a gas floor furnace in my dining room that I use to heat my home during the winter. It is controlled by a thermostat on the wall, but aside from that I don't know much about it other than how to turn it on for the winter and off for the summer. I'm aware that there are different models and such but I am not positive on which one mine is, the closest thing I could find to it would be this (Sorry about posting links on my first thread) Heating, Air Conditioning, Fridge, HVAC: Payne Floor Furnace, floor furnaces, floor furnace This is the link to what I believe is the furnace I have. http://0.tqn.com/w/experts/Heating-A...or-furnace.jpg This is the link straight to the picture on the previous link.

I've lived in this house for 13 years, and it's worked fine every single winter. It hasn't had more than 3-4 months of use at a time, and I've never had problems. This year however, whenever I first tried to light it, the pilot light was weak, the burner would like whenever the thermostat was turned up. But as soon as the burner went out it would suck the pilot out and I would either have to relight it or turn it off for lack of patience.