Replacing a Transformer with a higher VA rating


  #1  
Old 11-14-13, 07:48 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing a Transformer with a higher VA rating

According to some googling online, I believe that VA is, among other things, a power rating and it would be ok to replace a 15VA Class 2, 120 pri/24vac sec. unit with a universal unit of higher VA, such as 30VA or 40VA?

Transformer is in the control box of a standing pilot furnace.
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-13, 08:22 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 189
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes a higher power transformer will be fine if it physically will fit in your box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-13, 08:25 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you DMCman. Have a great afternoon.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: