Need help with wiring in a pilot relite to fan control center


  #1  
Old 11-30-13, 07:06 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help with wiring in a pilot relite to fan control center

OK, so a friend gave me this furnace to hook up in my auto repair shop for heat only use. But he didnít take notice of where these 2 certain wires go, so I need help.
If you look at the picture 2 of the wires from the pilot relite go to the fan control, but where?
The wire that I colored red is not connected to anything.
The wire that I colored blue is connected to a wire coming from the back side of the fan control.
Also am I correct in the fact that since this is a heat only gas furnace I only need to hook up the RED and WHITE wires to my thermostat?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 11-30-13, 08:24 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
Have you looked for a wiring diagram behind both blower panels?
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-13, 10:13 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,636
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Here's a representative wiring diagram that may help you.

Name:  zz.jpg
Views: 8690
Size:  19.5 KB
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-13, 10:18 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Had to go get the covers from my buddy'splace, but I found the diagram.
If I understand it correctly I need to run the 2 loose wires from the relite to the "W" and "C" connections on the fan control.
Then just hook up the wires from my thermostat, RED to the "R" and WHITE to the "W", and I should be good to go. Does that sound correct?

Thanks, Andrew
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 11-30-13, 10:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,636
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Yes....that sounds correct..... since it's very hard to read that schematic.
 
  #6  
Old 11-30-13, 10:51 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is a better view of the area we are working on.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 11-30-13, 11:05 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts


Yes, your pilot relight connects to W and C.
Your stat Connects to W, R (and possibly G if you want Fan only).

What's the heat exchanger look like on that old furnace?
Is it vented outdoors?
 

Last edited by Houston204; 11-30-13 at 12:13 PM.
  #8  
Old 11-30-13, 11:54 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes it is vented outside.
So I got everything hooked up, but when I seet the thermostat below room temperature the fan comes on but there is no heat. I looked inside at the pilot while it was on, and there is nothing. I am pretty sure that the relite is supposed to glow red, right? Also it makes a clicking sound about 2 times per second. Can you help me with this issue?
Thanks, Andrew
 
  #9  
Old 11-30-13, 12:10 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
It's a spark ignitor so it will not glow like a hot surface ignitor.

The relight models that I have seen still have a standard thermocouple.
You would need to turn the valve to pilot, press in the knob and light the pilot manually the first time.
After the thermocouple gets hot, you can release the knob and turn it back to ON.

The relight just keeps it from blowing out once lit.
 
  #10  
Old 11-30-13, 12:29 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There is no gas getting pass the gas valve. When I turn the knob to pilot and depress it nothing happens. I know I have gas going to the heater cause I bled the system at the drop pipe where it enters the heater. So does that mean that the gas valve will need to be replaced? If so can I get one at Home Depot?
 
  #11  
Old 11-30-13, 12:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
It is probably just a dirty pilot orifice.

If you remove the pilot tube from the gas valve and press the knob for a second, can you hear gas?

Turn off the gas.before working on the valve.

I usually use a open end combination 7/16 - 3/8 inch wrench to remove the pilot tube from the pilot assembly. If your lucky the orifice will drop out when you remove the pilot tube. I use a thin stick pin to clean the obstruction.

 
  #12  
Old 11-30-13, 12:47 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No gas comes out with the tube removed.
 
  #13  
Old 11-30-13, 12:54 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Also the orifice in the tube is free of obstruction.
 
  #14  
Old 11-30-13, 12:55 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
Does the knob drop in when you turn it to pilot?
I don't think Home Depot carries gas valves in my neck of the woods.
 
  #15  
Old 11-30-13, 12:59 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It doesn't drop in like it is broke or something. But I do have to hold it down to light the pilot, correct?
 
  #16  
Old 11-30-13, 01:01 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
I must sometimes wiggle it when I turn it to pilot to get it to drop in when pushing it down.

Yes, you must hold it down for gas to be allowed through the pilot tube outlet if the thermocouple isn't satisfied.
 
  #17  
Old 11-30-13, 01:18 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It goes down just fine, but nothing is coming out.
 
  #18  
Old 11-30-13, 01:26 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,519
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
If you have gas entering the valve with this problem, it sounds like a bad valve.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: