American Standard Freedom 90- Solid Red light


  #1  
Old 11-30-13, 06:09 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
American Standard Freedom 90- Solid Red light

Hello,

I have an American standard Freedom 90-r furnace that went out a few days ago. First there was a 3 flash error code which i determined was the pressure switch. I cleaned out all the lines tot he pressure switches but nothing. The inducer fan would start to rev up and when it got to the 3 or fourth setting it would just stop and the 3 flash error would come up. I then opened the drain line from the inducer fan and it was plugged up with gunk. I cleared it out and it then worked.. Only for a day. Then the code changed to a solid red light which i could not reset for the life of me. I called a repair technician and they said it was a failed control board. They ordered the part and replaced it yesterday. All worked fine until i woke up this morning and my house is 59 degrees. The heat was running but just blowing very fait cold air. I went down to the furnace to try and reset it and again solid red light. I am really confused as to what the issue could be. It has a brand new control board. Wondering if it could be something with the inducer fan?? I thought I would ask on here in any case. I do have a call into the tech that fixed it but thinking they are not going to get back to me until Monday and it is cold here in Chicago.
 
  #2  
Old 11-30-13, 07:27 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
Not sure how much it will help since I struggle to find their manuals but, do you have the model number that is posted on the burner section?
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-13, 07:30 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The Model number is AWY120R9V5W5 thanks
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-13, 07:37 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
American Standard

Nope, I only see toilets and faucets.

I tried dropping the first A and using a * on Trane's website but nothing came up.
 
  #5  
Old 11-30-13, 07:43 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sorry was reading off the techs paperwork. its AUY120R9V5W5
 
  #6  
Old 11-30-13, 08:16 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
It is strange that a constant LED indicates a faulty control board with so many of their units but a gas valve issue with some.

Looks like your model number at the top...



The new board should be under warranty. I recommend calling your contractor.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 11-30-13 at 10:08 AM.
  #7  
Old 11-30-13, 10:06 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks for the help, i appreciate it. Unfortunately i have to wait until Monday as these guys don't work on the weekends.. I wish there were some way to reset it other than opening the door and using the switch. Oh well. lots of blakets and sweaters..
 
  #8  
Old 11-30-13, 10:10 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
also my error is a solid Red and Solid Green LED which indicates blown fuse. Do you have any idea where a fuse might be located? I can't seem to find one...
 
  #9  
Old 11-30-13, 10:14 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
It is usually just 2 spade connectors plugged into a 3 amp blade type automotive fuse between the transformer and board. I couldn't find that manual on Trane's website but I have a copy downloaded. I will try to see if it has a pic and post back...
 
  #10  
Old 11-30-13, 10:20 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
I Googled the manual number 18-CD20D3-16 and it came up...


http://www.trane.com/webcache/un/fur...6_06012004.pdf





Do you have one on your board?
 
  #11  
Old 11-30-13, 12:08 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
also my error is a solid Red and Solid Green LED which indicates blown fuse. Do you have any idea where a fuse might be located? I can't seem to find one...
 
  #12  
Old 11-30-13, 12:21 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yes i found it. i need to go to store and get another 5 amp fuse. not sure why they are blowing.....
 
  #13  
Old 11-30-13, 02:15 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I am also having the same solid red light problem. I have the Freedom 80, but it appears to be very similar to the 90.

When I reset the power, it turns on and blinks slowly until heat is called and then blinks quickly. But after it turns on, heats, and turns back off, the next time heat is called for the light stays a solid red. And it does not heat, but rather the blower comes on and NEVER turns off. If I trip the breaker, the same sequence takes places again. Any ideas what I can try?
 
  #14  
Old 11-30-13, 02:23 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
It's tough to find the manual when given Freedom 80. I need a model number.
 
  #15  
Old 11-30-13, 02:52 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The model number is AUD080C936H3
 
  #16  
Old 11-30-13, 02:56 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Houston,

I found the fuse. It was on the bard and it was blown. I went to Ace and got a new one and it fired right up. I think that might have been the problem withth either board that they replaced... I now need to find out what is blowing the fuse..
 
  #17  
Old 11-30-13, 03:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
A short to the control wire going outside is the most common cause for popping fuses. Have you run cooling lately?
 
  #18  
Old 11-30-13, 10:07 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry if I kind of hijacked your post, jvietri. I wasn't sure if starting a new post was a good idea or not since ours appear to be similar.

I can keep resetting mine with the breaker trip, but after one heating cycle it reverts back to the solid red light, with blower staying on and without heat. OK during the day while I'm here and awake, but it is going to get cold in here by morning when I wake up.
 
  #19  
Old 11-30-13, 10:14 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
Do you have a solid red and a solid green?
What is your panel definition for your error code?
Do you have the manual for your furnace?
 
  #20  
Old 11-30-13, 10:20 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,521
Received 94 Upvotes on 87 Posts
Reset the power to your furnace and describe in detail the sequence of events.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: