Furnace help please!

Old 12-06-13, 11:02 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Furnace help please!

At the very end of last winter, my furnace blower motor died. I could smell it, it was obvious. Entire thing seized. Fine, so I shut it off, and in October I called around to get an appointment to have it repaired. Told the lady what was wrong, model/serial #, etc, and she said the tech would bring the parts with him. Mid november was the first available date. I used Sears because I have a relative who used to work there, and I have zero experience working on a furnace.

Sears guy shows up, says yep, you need a furnace motor, capacitor and a fuse. He doesn't have any parts. Gives me some outlandish total for parts(about $800 for a new motor, $150 for cap, etc). Says it will be 3-4 weeks to get parts. Awesome.

So I just ordered the parts myself, used all Lennox stuff, exact match to my versions. Sears didn't charge to come out since they didn't do anything.

Motor shows up, and I took the old housing out. The motor shaft was seized to the blower wheel, and even with a torch and PB Blaster I couldn't get them apart. So I ordered a new blower wheel from midwesthvac, because they had my exact oddball size in stock.

Put everything together last night, no problem. New motor, new blower wheel, new cap, new fuse. Turn it on, motor starts right up. No heat. Blows nothing but cold air. Reset the breaker and the tstat, and nothing.

So I start to check, and find that there is an auxiliary limit switch on the blower housing, and that it will trip if the blower motor quits moving air, which makes sense since I had a blower motor failure. So I bypassed it by shorting it, and the furnace started right up and was working great. It looks like a regular limit switch, but the wiring diagram on the PCB says the big orange wire runs to the aux limit switch, and back again.