Gas furnace not igniting

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-13, 06:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas furnace not igniting

I have a 1999 Goodman gas furnace (GMPH080-5) that is not igniting when heat is called. The inducer motor starts and after a few seconds I hear a click (pressure switch?), but the HSI does not glow. I removed the HSI and received an 80 ohms resistance reading, which is acceptable continuity, based on what I have researched.

Called a tech who tested the voltage coming to the HSI from the control board and it read 6 volts. From what I read, that is too low of voltage and the tech was unsure and said that each HSI is rated differently. He advised me to order new HSI and install, which I'm waiting on. I have removed the tubing between the pressure switch and inducer and it appears to be clear. Does this sound like a faulty HSI, control board or pressure switch? The tech seemed to be convinced it is not the pressure switch because he could hear it clicking closed and not the control board because it was reading voltage to the HSI. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-13, 06:46 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,296
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The HSI should be getting 120 volts AC. If the tech read 6 volts, something is definitely wrong.

The pressure switch should be checked with a meter to insure that the internal contacts are actually making and breaking the circuit as they should.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-13, 06:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply. I agree that 6 volts sounded too low and the tech not very confident. Check pressure switch with multimeter for voltage or manometer to see if there is enough pressure to close it completely?
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-13, 07:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,085
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
If the pressure switch was the problem the board would go into shutdown with a code.
Your ignitor is fine.

You are not getting full voltage to the ignitor. It could be caused by a problem control board as well as an intermittent connection between the board and ignitor.
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-13, 08:01 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info. The tech said the control board was fine because voltage was getting to the ignitor, but I was skeptical. Would a new control board be the best resolution?
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-13, 11:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,085
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
I wouldn't call 6v to the ignitor "fine"

You'll need to check all connections like I mentioned earlier. Check the voltage right at the board and then again at the ignitor.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: