Thermo Pride ignition problem


  #1  
Old 12-31-13, 04:41 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thermo Pride ignition problem

I have a thermo pride gas furnace with a hot surface igniter.everything seems to be working properly, but it will not ignite. I have replaced the igniter and cleaned the orifices and tubes. If I reach in with a long stem lighter and spark it when the valve opens, it lights and burns fine. Any ideas?? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-31-13, 07:56 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 815
Upvotes: 0
Received 25 Upvotes on 22 Posts
One thing you can try, while waiting for the experts to respond: clean the flame sensor. It's a safety feature that prevents gas from flowing if the flames go out. Google "flame sensor" for photos- yours will look different but you'll get the idea.

Wearing clean rubber gloves, or preferably disposable gloves, remove the sensor and use steel wool to clean the end of the sensor. You're trying to remove oxides that build up over time. Replace the flame sensor and test the furnace for operability.

Hope this works for you- if not, the mods will want to see your furnace make and model to proceed with further troubleshooting.

Dave O
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-13, 09:13 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks but I'm pretty sure the flame sensor is good. When I light the burner with a sparker it burns fine. It's like the gas is not hitting the hot element and igniting, but a spark will light it and then it burns fine.
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-13, 01:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,990 Upvotes on 3,581 Posts
Are you saying that the igniter will come on and glow brightly, you'll hear a click and the igniter will start dimming and you can light the burner with a flame ?

If that is true.... it sounds like you have a burner that is rusted or has scale covering the holes/slots where the igniter is and the gas is not getting to the igniter fast enough.

Sometimes a burner can be cleaned in place but many times it needs to be removed for a proper cleaning. Pay close attention the ports where the gas travels from burner tube to burner tube.
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-13, 01:47 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was just going to write and ask if that could be the problem!! I did clean them but they were pretty rusty. What you wrote is exactly what was happening. Fortunately we have gas, wood, pellet and electric heat, we will never not have a source if heat!! Thanks for your response, I'll let you know if that solves it, gonna get new burners Thursday.
 
  #6  
Old 01-01-14, 03:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok, I took the burners out, used a paper clip to clean out those channels. They did seem clogged up, put it all back together and nothing changed! I can still spark it and it lights and burns fine. Is the igniter something that either does or doesn't work?? I can see it glow a bright orange, is it not getting hot enough? Burner tubes are pretty cheap, so I guess I'll put new ones in and see if that changes anything......
 
  #7  
Old 01-01-14, 07:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,990 Upvotes on 3,581 Posts
It's either not glowing bright enough, is not properly aligned with the burner or the burner is still clogged at that key location.
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-14, 01:40 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The way the igniter mounts, there is no way for it to be out of alignment . I can see light through these channels, so I'm assuming the gas would flow. The igniter heats to a bright red, is it possible that it isn't getting hot enough? I thought it either worked or it didn't. If it's not getting hot enough, does that mean I need to change the control board? Thanks for all the help!
 
  #9  
Old 01-03-14, 11:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,990 Upvotes on 3,581 Posts
If it wasn't getting hot enough you would change the actual igniter.

Not a bad idea to try it anyway as a spare igniter is a good thing to have on hand as they can just fail at a moments notice.

I keep a spare for my furnace, clothes dryer and oven on hand
 
  #10  
Old 01-03-14, 04:53 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I took the burner tubes to the local hvac supply store, they said no need for new tubes. He suggested I put a flat washer behind the bottom mounting screw of the igniter to change the angle. I'll be damned it worked!! Thanks for all your help/suggestions !!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: