Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Gas and Oil Home Heating Furnaces
Reload this Page >

Gas furnace blower motor: single-phase versus split-phase; 1/6hp versus 1/3hp

Old 01-01-14, 03:11 AM
N
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi,

I am not an electrician, nor a DIY, and the info I find online does not exactly address my issues. At least not in layman's language. I'm hoping someone can assist, please.

My 40+ year old furnace blower motor finally bit the dust. Here are relevant specs for that motor, from the faceplate:
Westinghouse brand, apparent model number is 1635005-B
1725 rpm
1/6 hp
115v
60 cycles
2.9 amps
Motor Type FH (split phase)
Service Factor 1.35
Continuous duty

Somebody I hired, showed up and installed this motor:
Century, model GF2034
1725 rpm
1/3 hp
115v
60 cycles
6.8 amps
Motor Type S (apparently single phase, not split phase?)
Service Factor 1.35
Continuous duty

I have a one story house with full finished basement, furnace is in the basement.

With the new motor, while I do have air flow restored, I have two undesirable side effects:

1) Each time the blower motor starts up, there is a brief loud electrical sound. (Hard to describe in words, best I can match it to is the sound of a dog barking once, but it's an electrical noise. Sometimes it's a two-syllable bark.) You hear it throughout the house. It can startle you, especially in the evening and at night. I did not have this noise with the old motor, or it was so mellow that it stayed downstairs, if you know what I mean.

2) There is a steady hum throughout the house, including upstairs, when the blower motor is running. It's not a vibration to me, it's a hum. The sound can wear on you, especially in the evening and at night. There was no hum with the old motor, or else it was quieter and confined to downstairs.