older Bryant furnace not staying lit


  #1  
Old 01-06-14, 06:02 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy older Bryant furnace not staying lit

It's -38 here in northern Ohio! I have a older Bryant furnace (40 years old or so) I can get the pilot lit, then I turn on the gas valve to on, and turn on the power to the furnace, the furnace will light the burners but after a few seconds I hear a pop in the control valve and the gas is shut off and everything goes out including the pilot. Now I did have to have the control valve replaced a couple years ago, it has a dual valve standing pilot control valve in it. Hope someone has an idea .. THANKS!
 
  #2  
Old 01-06-14, 06:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,951 Votes on 2,663 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Is that a millivolt system ? No 24vac transformer. Two wires to the thermostat ?

A weak pilot generator or a defective themocouple if it's not a millivolt system.
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-14, 06:12 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
If you just leave the valve in the pilot position & release the button, will the pilot stay lit?
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-14, 06:20 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes pilot stays lit, turn the valve to on and it continues to stay lit. I then turn the power switch on the side of the furnace on and the burners all light, however after about 5 seconds? I hear the pop come from the control valve and all gas is shut off and everything goes out , however the fan keeps running.

I'm not sure what your talking about as far as millivolt system goes, i think I'm looking at the thermostat it says "cam-stat" on it and "fixed limit 190F . It has 3 wires coming from it. also the switch on the side looks like a big transformer of some kind about the size of a baseball.

thank you guys so much
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-14, 06:58 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Do the burners go out at virtually the same time the fan comes on?
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-14, 07:04 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
don't think so, sometimes the fan doesn't come on yet when the burners light. I messed with it for a few hours tonight. Don't think fan has any effect on when the gas goes out though
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-14, 07:10 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
This is somewhat of a long shot but maybe the pilot orifice is dirty or slightly clogged. I suggest you remove the pilot assembly, brush with a fine wire brush, & flush with solvent such as carb cleaner then blow it out well. Put it back together & give it a go.
 
  #8  
Old 01-06-14, 07:15 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Im staying at my moms but will give it a go first thing in the morning. I really appreciate the advice. I will post the results tomorrow.
 
  #9  
Old 01-07-14, 04:11 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey, was the thermocoupler. The flame wasn't hitting it directly enough so i adjusted it a little bit, seemed to do the trick. Thanks for the suggestions!
 
  #10  
Old 01-07-14, 04:18 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,110
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
It may be that it was dirty which can affect operation. A new one is about $10-15 and you can clean the old one with an abrasive pad, like a green meanie. I don't think they recommend steel wool or sandpaper...not sure.

Glad you have heat. I knew there was a reason I moved away from Ohio and never looked back. -38F? Good grief!
 
  #11  
Old 01-07-14, 04:46 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yeah i picked one up today for 11 dollars, gonna switch it out when it warms up a little bit. This is the coldest i can ever remember around here. It's -3 right now with out windchill!
 
  #12  
Old 01-07-14, 05:07 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 2,144
Received 50 Votes on 44 Posts
Please get that thing checked out. Just because it's running now doesn't mean it's safe - you might need a new furnace, not a thermocouple.

30-40% of the heat you're paying for is going right up the chimney whether it's safe or not.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: