Honeywell thermostat display turns off after 4 minutes

Old 02-14-14, 09:50 PM
Honeywell thermostat display turns off after 4 minutes

Hello there, how are you doing? I hope all is well. I have a question? I am new to this and I am doing some research. I bought a new Honeywell Wifi thermostat and I installed everything. The heat turns on normally like it did with the old thermostat, but the thermostat display turns off after approximately 4 minutes and comes back after 53 seconds. It's like a pattern or something. Could it be the thermostat is defective or maybe something is wrong with my furnace board? When I connect my older thermostat everything works fine. So I don't know? It doesn't make sense to me.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-14-14, 09:54 PM
Super Moderator
Hello and welcome..

What is the model of the t stat?

I know there is a c wire issue with them to get power to it... I would assume you wired it correctly?

Old 02-14-14, 09:56 PM
I must be honest, that I hooked up the thermostat without the C wire and it started tweaking. It kept turning off and on constantly. Then I found the C wire and connected it to something called the "24 V HUM" that didn't work either. Then, I finally found the C common on my furnace board. It started working fine. However, the display would turn off after approx 4 minutes. Now, funny thing is when I turn the system off from the thermostat. The display stays on and it doesn't turn off at all. So I don't think I messed up the thermostat. I think there maybe something wrong with the wiring. Or maybe I haven't connect it to to the right C wire? I mean my electrician friend verified and found my C wire. He brought his tester and said this is your C wire. So I don't know? Should I return my thermostat and exchange it for the same one and see maybe I messed up the thermostat or should I do something else with the furnace board or clean something or put something else? I don't know? I appreciate your help. Thanks in advanced.