Fan not blowing


  #1  
Old 03-02-14, 11:30 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fan not blowing

Rheem Imperial 90 Plus model# RGKA-07EA F 27 yrs old Propane
Hunter Thermostat

I'm in Mid-Missouri
It's 10 degrees outside and has been colder than usual.
Typical 1957 1 story 1405 sq ft long and rectangular in shape rather than square.

When I woke up I found that it was 51 degrees in the house. I went to the furnace and followed the instructions for restarting. The furnace turned on but the blower never kicked in.

Off the top of my head... blower motor dead? Is this something I can do? I'm a pretty heavy DIYer.
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-14, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Can you confirm the the model number is RGKA and not RKKA
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-14, 11:41 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, I had double checked it and just went and looked again. It is RGKA-07EA FS
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-14, 11:52 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
The logical place to start is to turn off furnace power and open the blower door and see if the motor is hot. See if the blower spins freely.

If it is hot and it turns freely it may just need a new capacitor.

What you could also do is to put the thermostat in FAN ON mode. Turn power back on to the furnace. Hold the blower door safety switch in and use a stick to turn the blower to see if it starts turning. Please keep your fingers out of there when you power it up.
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-14, 11:54 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok, will do.
Thanks, I'll let you know what happens. ARGH
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-14, 12:01 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I turned off the heat at the thermostat and just turned the fan on. It turned on and is blowing wonderfully. Then I turned the heat back on.

So what should I do now? I can't leave the fan on all of the time. LOL
 
  #7  
Old 03-02-14, 12:10 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Motor wasn't hot. Fan moved freely.
At thermostat turned of heat and turned fan on. Works wonderfully. Then turned heat back on and furnace sounds normal.

But... all it's blowing is cold air. The furnace is definitely running. It sounds normal.
Should I do the reset again?
It's been on for about 10 minutes, shouldn't I be feeling warm air coming out of the vents by now?
 
  #8  
Old 03-02-14, 12:20 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I can't find any info online for your furnace, so if you don't mind, I'll give it a shot. 27 yrs old so i'm guessing it has a pilot light, make sure that is burning.
 
  #9  
Old 03-02-14, 12:32 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Definitely nothing online... I searched and then searched... you get the idea.

Nope, there's no pilot. It's electronic.

Thanks for trying
 
  #10  
Old 03-02-14, 12:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
When you have the blower in FAN ON mode it works ok. Does the burner light when the blower is running ? If yes..... leave the blower running while you work on the problem if it keeps the heat up.

No standing pilot. Both systems listed show HSI's.

The following links reflect a Honeywell S-890 system.
Rheem/webdocs/Servicedocs/histlib/PDFS/Wiring/90-22416-03.pdf

The following link reflects the Robertshaw HS-780 system.
Rheem/webdocs/Servicedocs/histlib/PDFS/Wiring/90-22416-04-02.pdf
 
  #11  
Old 03-02-14, 12:54 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sigh... I went to check the furnace to make sure it was on. NOT So I did the restart again. Now the furnace won't turn on at all and the knob to turn from on to off is really hard to turn.

This is crazy.
I appreciate you taking the time. Luckily I have 2 electric heaters that I can run in my office and bedroom that keep some of the chill off. I keep putting more layers of clothes on.
 
  #12  
Old 03-02-14, 01:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
That knob turns the gas off and doesn't need to be turned. That has an electronic ignition system so just turning off the AC power and restoring it resets the system.

I'm still looking for further info for you.
 
  #13  
Old 03-02-14, 01:17 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In the restart instructions it says to turn the gas to off, then pull the electric.
I turned the gas back on and plugged it in.
Thermostat was set at lowest setting.

The furnace will not start now.
 
  #14  
Old 03-02-14, 01:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PJ, Thanks for the wiring diagrams. I don't know how you do it, but don't stop.
 
  #15  
Old 03-02-14, 01:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
What is the blower doing ? Does it still work in the FAN ON mode ?


Newest revison for install manual with troubleshooting chart.
Rheem/webdocs/Servicedocs/histlib/PDFS/Furnaces/IO/92-20552-74-04.pdf
 
  #16  
Old 03-02-14, 01:45 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I swear I'm going to go hit it with a baseball bat soon! j/k

The fan works even though the furnace itself isn't.
 
  #17  
Old 03-02-14, 01:55 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Went back in, pulled the electricity, waited a couple of mins and plugged it back in.
The furnace made absolutely no sound what so ever.
Fan still runs.

Fuse is still good at the plug in site.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: